auctionnomad.blogg.se

Raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop
Raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop












raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop
  1. #Raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop Pc#
  2. #Raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop windows#

WD My Book Duo speed in JBOD configuration I did these tests using a USB Type C to Type C cable connected to a USB 3.1 port. The top two are sequential, while the bottom two are random. Here are the speeds of the My Book Duo in JBOD, compared to the regular WD My Book. I found that the My Book Duo was faster than My Book. If the chance of losing a file from hard drive failure is 1%, then it is still 1% when using JBOD. But the two disks are independent, and using them in a JBOD configuration is no different than having two external drives instead of one. Some say that you should consider the failure rate of both disks. The chance of failure with JBOD is the same as individual disks. With My Book Duo, you only need one USB cable to access both drives. With this configuration, the two disks inside the My Book Duo are treated as independent hard drives (each one has its own drive letter). If the normal chance of failure of one drive is 1%, the chance of failure using JBOD is 1%.

raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop

Option 1: JBOD (Just a Bunch of Disks, a.k.a. When multiple hard drives are used together with these options, they are in a RAID configuration (Redundant Array of Independent Disks). Some options trade space for security, while others trade security for speed, and there are many options in between. When you have multiple hard drives, you have several options for using them. The reading and writing sound wasn’t annoying.

raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop

I found that My Book Duo was generally quiet although it hummed a bit louder than My Book. They do not say that it is compatible with other drives.īesides expandability, another advantage of My Book Duo over a single external hard drive is that it can be reconfigured for better reliability, or higher speed using RAID (see below). UPDATE: According to Western Digital, the compatible drives are WD Green and WD Red. It’s more economical and better for the environment. In the future, if I need more storage, I can just replace the hard drives instead of buying an entire external hard drive. It includes two WD Red hard drive, which are used for NAS drives.

raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop

When you pry the top of the My Book Duo, you can see that it uses standard 3.5-inch hard drives that you can easily replace. If you press the other side, it might not recognize your button press. Note: you should press the side of the button close to the edge of the drive.

#Raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop windows#

There is a power button at the back that will automatically eject the hard drives from Windows before powering them down. WD My Book Duo has two pass through USB 3 ports The drive also has two USB 3.0 pass-through ports for accessories or other drives. It includes USB Type C to Type C, and a USB Type C to Type A cables.

#Raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop Pc#

My Book Duo connects to your PC or Mac via USB Type C and supports USB 3.1. I’ve almost filled up two 8TB hard drives and was looking for an external hard drive and chose the WD My Book Duo is an external hard drive with two bays that can each accommodate standard 3.5-inch hard drives. I’ll also discuss the basics of RAID.ģ60 videos and 360 photos can take up a lot of space, especially if you use high quality formats such as Prores or TIFF. However, it has a potential dealbreaker – hardware encryption (see below). WD My Book Duo review for 360 photo and video editingĪre you looking for more storage for your 360 photos and videos? Here’s a hands-on review of WD My Book Duo, a fast, expandable external hard drive.














Raid 16 tb external hard drive usb 3 desktop